Book Review: Pujols by Lamb & Ellsworth



With baseball season on the verge of opening day, I thought I’d share my review of Albert Pujols new biography. Enjoy the review, the book, and Go Cubs!

When I saw there was a biography about Albert Pujols out, I wanted to read it. I did not want to read it because I’m a Cardinals fan – I’m a lifelong Cubs fan. No, I wanted to read Pujols because I am a baseball fan and was curious to read about his faith. I have heard for years that he was a Christian and reading how people live out their faith in their jobs (especially major league baseball) is encouraging and challenging.

Lamb and Ellsworth wonderfully weave together the on-the-field and the off-the-field life of Pujols from his childhood days in the Dominican Republic to the 2010 season with the Cardinals. There are great baseball stories, including some behind-the-scenes looks at how Pujols responds during and after games. You read about Pujols response to hitting a fan with a foul ball and how he reacts after nailing a pitcher with a line drive.

Other chapters are filled with stories of how Albert and DeeDee spend their time helping and serving others. Stories of all the work they do for kids with Down Syndrome and the trips to the Dominican. For Pujols, being one of the best baseball players (if not arguably the best active) in history is a platform to share his faith with the world.

If you are a baseball fan, you will enjoy reading about the game. If you are curious about Pujols (especially in light of the contract negotiations), you will learn a lot from reading this book. If you are a Christian who wants to know how to live out your faith in the workplace, you will glean some ideas within these pages. The subtitle says it all – for Albert Pujols, baseball is more than the game.

My advice (rating) – go out and buy it (4 out of 5)

**I reviewed this book as part of the BookSneeze review program**

Leave a Reply

