SYMC ’11: Sunday Edition


Saturday was a day of “rest & conversations” – Sunday was a day of learning.

Rick Lawrence used an old Brennan Manning story about a strawberry to remind us of God’s working in our lives. Overall the general session was good, but one thing really stands out. We were challenged to find a partner we didn’t know and pray with them, but Rick asked that we try to listen to God before we just prayed a standard prayer. We were supposed to ask God to show us a “strawberry” in our partner’s life. When my partner prayed for me, she prayed about a “guitar” but didn’t know what it meant.

I’ve thought about this for the past few days, trying to figure out what it means. I’m not sure if playing guitar with my family is something I need to do more of. Or if its simply a need to spend more time listening to and worshiping with music. Or if it is more than that.

Saturday I didn’t go to either of the tracks, but today I went to Kara Powell’s on Equipping and Empowering Parents to Build Lasting Faith With Their Kids. It was superb. Here are a few points that stuck out to me:

  • 6 out of 7 kids don’t feel equipped with faith that prepares them for college
  • 40-50% of teens will drift from the LORD 18 months after graduation (80% intended to stick)
  • We must remember that parents are often afraid and not intentional (one of our goals is to support and equip them to be the spiritual leaders for their kids)
  • We need to help parents focus on “trusting God” v. “obeying God.”
  • “When she made a bad decision, I didn’t send her away. Rather I brought her close.” (from Spiritual Parenting, p. 70-74) How do you respond when kids make bad decisions?
  • The more students are involved in intergenerational worship (and relationships) before graduation, the better they do in college.

The last part of the day did not go the way I thought it was going to. I had planned on going to the session on helping to plan the KidMin conference, but ended up at the life podcast. I just got “caught up” spending time with my friends and just couldn’t get away. 🙂

It was a great last full-day, and reminder of some of the things that make SYMC such a great conference: great trainer and authentic relationships.

One response to “SYMC ’11: Sunday Edition

  1. Pingback: SYMC ’11: Final Thoughts | Youth Ministry Reflections

Leave a Reply

