books for young youth workers


I am an avid reader.

I am a bookaholic.

I have been known to spend too much time in a bookstore.

Because of these facts, I do not recommend books lightly. Below you will find a list of books I highly recommend. In fact, it is a list of 8 books I have read more than once (and might read again). When I do read a good book, I mean a really good book, I’ll go back to it again. If it is really good, I’ll even read it again. And since I don’t like to keep good books to myself, I thought I would share my list of books worth a second read.

These books are not solely youth ministry books, but are books I feel help a youth worker maintain balance in their ministry. These books will challenge you personally, spiritually, and professionally.

  1. Flashbang by Mark Steele
  2. Me, Myself, and Bob by Phil Vischer (my review)
  3. Messy Spirituality by Mike Yaconelli
  4. A Tale of Three Kings by Gene Edwards
  5. Hurt by Chap Clark
  6. The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
  7. Visioneering by Andy Stanley
  8. Sustainable Youth Ministry by Mark DeVries (my review)

I also asked some of my friends to share their recommended “read twice” books.

my twitter friends:

@ShawnMichael Yac’s “Messy Spirituality” :)

@GamersGuide2God Made to Stick, Mere Christianity, Screwtape Letters, Evidence that Demands a Verdict, and obviously the Bible. :)
@DanuckInUSA The Present Future by Reggie McNeal
@dbuckham hands down…A Tale of Three Kings by Gene Edwards.
A few of my facebook friends (who will remain nameless) recommended these books:
-Band of Brothers…Wild at Heart…Cost of Discipleship…John Stott…NT Wright…
-the giver. ECXELLENT BOOK!
-How to Win Friends and Influence People
-Where the Wild Things Are
-The Book of the Long Sun by Gene Wolfe.
I think its fun that a few of the books I thought were worth a second read were also on another person’s list. Just reinforces that they are definately worth another look.
What books would you add to the category of “worth a second look?”
2 responses to “books for young youth workers

  1. I’d definitely echo your recommendations of Hurt and Sustainable Youth Ministry.

    I’d also add An Unstoppable Force from Erwin McManus for a creative look at what church can be, and Under the Unpredictable Plant from Eugene Peterson for a dive into developing the spiritual depth needed for ministry. A Million Miles in a Thousand Years from Donald Miller is a great bit of inspiration as well.

Leave a Reply

