DVD Review: Adventures in Booga Booga Land


(What follows is a review of a DVD that you might be interested in using within your children’s ministry, because it is a cartoon whose stories are based on Jesus’ parables)

Marty (a monkey) and Gerard (a giraffe) are best friends and live in Booga Booga Land. The adventures they get into are all based on Jesus’ parables, which makes this DVD more appealing to parents who want their kids to be exposed to the truth of the Bible. This particular collection has three episodes, based on the workers in the vineyard, the wise and foolish builders, and the lamp under the bowl.

I had high hopes that this would be a great DVD to use both at home and at church. And as I watched it with my children, I was surprised to see that they enjoyed it. We all laughed during the episodes, though the kids laughed at more parts than I did. In fact, they even asked to watch it again. So I can say, as a parent, that this is a DVD your children will probably enjoy. But, in terms of the connection to the parables I felt that it was either a stretch or not there at all. It was definitely a new and creative method of teaching on the parables.

I would not recommend buying this DVD, but if you can borrow it you should.

**I reviewed this book as part of the BookSneeze review program**

Leave a comment